

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

August 1, 2017

Contact: Ellen Weiss eweiss@biophysics.org

Biophysical Society Announces Winners of Student Poster Awards at IUPAB-EBSA 2017

The Biophysical Society is pleased to announce the winners of its student poster competition at the joint 19th International Union of Pure and Applied Biophysics (IUPAB) and 11th European Biophysical Societies Association (EBSA) Conference, held in Edinburgh, United Kingdom, July 16-20, 2017. This was the fifth EBSA meeting at which BPS held this competition, with over 75 students participating this year. Twelve winners were selected to receive a \$500 travel award and a complimentary membership to the Biophysical Society. The winners, along with their home institution and poster title, are:

Amy Beedle

Kings College London, United Kingdom

Tailoring protein nanomechanics with chemical reactivity

Lukas Braun

ETH Zurich, Switzerland

Multi-scale simulations of focal adhesion kinase at PIP containing membranes

Amira El Merhie

Italian Institute of Technology

CHO cells on uniform and patterned SLG: adhesion and proliferation

Alberto Hidalgo

Complutense University, Spain

Pulmonary surfactant and drug delivery: sharing an interfacial trip

Madlen Luckner

Humboldt University of Berlin, Germany

Influenza virus vRNPs: quantitative investigations via fluorescence crosscorrelation spectroscopy

Sara Mattana

University of Perugia, Italy

Brillouin Microspectroscopy and Raman Analysis for the study of Amyloid Plaques in Transgenic Mouse

Oleg Mikhajlov

Institut Curie, France

Mechanosensing and dynamics of cell filopodia

OFFICERS

President

Lukas Tamm University of Virginia

President-Elect

Angela Gronenborn University of Pittsburgh

Past-President

Suzanne Scarlata
Worcester Polytechnic Institute

Secretary

Frances Separovic
University of Melbourne

Treasurer

Kalina Hristova Johns Hopkins University

Executive Officer

Rosalba Kampman Biophysical Society, Rockville

COUNCIL

Zev Bryant

Jane Clarke

Bertrand Garcia-Moreno

Teresa Giraldez

Ruben Gonzalez, Jr.

Ruth Heidelberger

Robert Nakamoto

Arthur Palmer

Gabriela Popescu

Gabriela Popescu

Marina Ramirez-Alvarado Erin Sheets

Ioanna Swain

Joanna Swaii

BIOPHYSICAL JOURNAL

Editor-in-Chief

Jane Dyson

COMMITTEE CHAIRS

Awards

Betsy Komives

Early Careers

Bert Tanner

Education

Gina MacDonald

Finance

Kalina Hristova

Inclusion and Diversity Marina Ramirez-Alvarado

International Relations

Daumantas Matulis

Member Services

Frances Separovic

Membership

Juliette Lecomte

Nominating

Art Palmer

Professional Opportunities

for Women (CPOW)

Gabriela Popescu

Public Affairs

Edward Egelman

Publications

Olaf Anderson

Thematic Meetings Richard Aldrich Jonas Mücksch Max Planck Institute, Germany Quantification of surface binding by wide-field total internal reflection FCS

Evelina Nikelshparg

Lomonosov Moscow State University, Russia

SERS-based study of cytochrome c properties in heart mitochondria from health and diseased animals

Markus Schön

University of Göttingen, Germany

Mimicking the cellular cortex: Artificial F-actin networks physiologically attached to lipid bilayers

Alexandra Schumann-Gillett

Australian National University

How do oxidised phospholipids affect the properties of a lipid bilayer?

Marie Synakewicz University of Cambridge, United Kingdom Capturing a biological nanospring in action

The Biophysical Society, founded in 1958, is a professional, scientific Society established to encourage development and dissemination of knowledge in biophysics. The Society promotes growth in this expanding field through its annual meeting, monthly journal, and committee and outreach activities. Its members are located throughout the U.S. and the world, where they teach and conduct research in colleges, universities, laboratories, government agencies, and industry.